One year older…

(I wrote this 12/17/12)

When December began I started doing something most people do the month of their birthday; counting down until the exciting day or in some cases the dreaded day of growing one year older. I continued to count down the days to my birthday until three days ago when tragedy struck our country. Shock, fear, grief and even anger grew in our hearts. Emotions swelled as we continued with the flow of the Christmas season. I wasn’t able to calm myself and actually wrap my mind around what had happened until the next day. And that’s when God took hold of me, gently by the hand, and pointed out some things I needed to identify. He made me question the way I had been living.

 

Why have I been given sixteen years of life? Why the months, weeks, days, hours, minutes that God has given me one more breath? The answer was clear: God has a plan for me. A broken vessel, a mound of clay. But the questions were not through.

 

Have I used those valuable moments to fulfill that plan? Have I been furthering God’s kingdom? Have I been bringing God glory? Have I been blessing His name in the hard times? Have I thanked him enough for His daily blessings, big and small? I began to plead with God that I would not take my life for granted. I want to live my life with no regrets and fully, no matter how long it lasts. I want to live my life for Him, counting the blessings, even if they come with pain.

 

So today I want to re-dedicate my life to Him, whether it be a few more days, months, sixteen or even eighty more years.

2 thoughts on “One year older…

Leave your own random rambling!

