Saying Good-bye to Great Papa – 3-30-13 {Flashback Friday}

Soon after my Great Grandpa moved in with his daughter (my Gramma) because of his decline from lung cancer, we noticed his health deteriorate even quicker. It was time for a barbecue to spend some last moments with the patriarch of the family. It was bittersweet for all of us since we knew it would most likely be our last time with him, but we also knew how much he was eagerly waiting to be reunited with his dear wife in Heaven as well as meet his Savior whom he had served faithfully.

Papa

Watching Papa grill

Watching Papa grill

Lil josh

After Great Papa woke up we all got to spend some special time with him.

IMG_5436

Daniel showing off the wordless picture book I made them from their hike on the mountain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now we couldn’t have a visit to my grandparents house without having the traditional egg hunt. No matter what time of year or what holiday we are celebrating we hide around 12-24 wooden eggs!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We also had some time to spend with my Aunt Becki and my dad’s cousin (Nate) and his wife (Sandra).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plus we got to chat with my Aunt Kris to wish her happy birthday on Skype!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite picture of the night… my Dad having his last conversation with his Grandpa

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The beautiful sunset that night

We love and miss you Great Papa!

5 thoughts on “Saying Good-bye to Great Papa – 3-30-13 {Flashback Friday}

  1. S. C. says:

    Good post, Moriah. I can understand how you felt. How great a blessing it can be to know that our loved ones are with Jesus.
    Sam
    P.S. Sounds like I’ll be seeing you soon. Looking forward to it!

  2. Gramma Newhouse says:

    I loved this tribute to my dad; I miss him, but I know he’s happier than he’s ever been.
    Thank you for such a wonderful rendering of your “flashback”.

Leave your own random rambling!

