A New Look

Since Jordan moved away to Kansas, Bethany moved into her room, which means I got my own room! I haven’t had my own room since I was 2. I didn’t really care that I had to share, I actually enjoyed it (the tough part was sharing a tiny closet). After Bethany moved out I knew I had to reorganize a lot in my room. That’s when the wheels started turning and I got the idea to move some furniture around and add some more colors!

We painted our room purple and got new white bunk beds in August of 2009:

 

The only things that had changed since then was our new white desk and new bedspreads. My goal was to make my room a little more modern and “older” (since I’m almost 18!) Did I reach that goal? I don’t know… You’ll have to be the judge!

This is how you would first see my room walking in... I'm hoping to change the top quilt, but for now it works fine ;)

This is how you would first see my room walking in… I’m hoping to change the top quilt, but for now it works fine 😉

From L to R: My vanity, locker, file cabinet, bunk bed, desk

From L to R: My vanity, locker, file cabinet, bunk bed, desk

I love my shelves :)

I love my shelves 🙂

This is where I had the most fun. Six of the cubbies are color coded. After originally organizing like this my brothers had fun sticking some of there things in the right cubby hole. I also really like the way my books are organized.

This is where I had the most fun. Six of the cubbies are color coded. After originally organizing like this, my brothers had fun sticking some of their things in the right cubby holes. What’s better than books in a book shelf? Books organized in rainbow color 😀

For now my desk has the book of James under the glass along with my memory verses from AWANA. My calendar sits on my desk for the time being since I don't have anywhere to hang it.

For now my desk has the book of James under the glass along with my memory verses from AWANA. My calendar sits on my desk for the time being since I don’t have anywhere to hang it.

My vanity: The rest of my room is somewhat "modern" except for this part. This is where I get to have fun with a vintage theme :)

My vanity: The rest of my room is somewhat “modern” except for this part. This is where I get to have fun with a vintage theme 🙂

My locker is one of my favorite things in my room because it's from my great grandpa and I've covered it in pictures that hold sweet memories from my trip to the Dominican Republic. (The two bottom ones are from when I was little) My file cabinet has random quotes, notes, and art from my brothers.

My locker is one of my favorite things in my room because my great grandpa built it decades ago and I’ve covered it in pictures that hold sweet memories from my trip to the Dominican Republic. (The two bottom ones are from when I was little) My file cabinet has random quotes, notes, and art from my brothers.

 

So? Did I accomplish my goal? Let me know what you think 🙂

4 thoughts on “A New Look

  1. maestracn says:

    Bon jour, Moriah,

    I really like how you did your shelves…yes, and very modern, too. The room looks so much bigger, and yet you have many different areas.

    I like the calendar under the glass. You could use a grease pencil and write on top of the glass; then you could wipe it off and begin again with the October calendar.

    And félicitations on your own room. You and Bethany can still hang out together whenever you like; but you¹ll each have your private space, too.

    Continue having fun with your décor!

    Je t’aime,

    Gramma

Leave your own random rambling!

